Dannie Heineman Prize Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

History: The American Astronomical Society joined with the American Institute of Physics in 1978 to award a prize to recognize an individual who had made a series of major contributions to astronomy and/or astrophysics.

Members: Six members, each serving for three years. Two new members are nominated by the Appointments Committee for Board of Trustees approval each January. The chair of the Russell Lectureship Committee is a non-voting, ex officio member.

Term: Three years, January-December, as practiced, one January Board of Trustees meeting to another.

Chair: One year, January-December, as practiced, one January Board of Trustees meeting to another. One of the two senior committee members will be Chair in their last year.

Charge: Nominates candidates for the Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics.

"Noting that the Warner/Pierce Prizes are for early career astronomers, that the Heineman Prize has been established as a mid-career award, and that the Russell Lectureship traditionally has been for senior astronomers, recognized for lifetime achievement, the [Board of Trustees] requests that the Warner/Pierce Prize Committee, the Heineman Prize Committee, and the Russell Lectureship Committee take full note of this distinction in making their annual choices."


Committee Chair

Derek L. Buzasi

Florida Gulf Coast University

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2025

Committee Members

Timothy A. Livengood (He/Him/His)


Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Elena Orlando (She/Her/Hers)

University of Trieste, Eureka Scientific, Stanford University

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Aswin Sekhar, Astronomer (He/Him/His)

IMCCE Paris Observatory

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Eric S. Perlman

Florida Institute of Technology

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Sarbani Basu

Yale University

Term: Jan 2020 – Dec 2023

Janice C. Lee


Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025